## **Updated Maritime Zones Maps**

Following the 28 April 2023 judgement of the Special Chamber of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS), establishing a binding delimitation line between the Exclusive Economic Zones (EEZ) of the Republic of Mauritius and the Republic of Maldives, and the subsequent Cabinet decision of 22 March 2024, the Maritime Zones (EEZ Outer Limit Lines) Regulations 2008 were revoked and replaced by the Maritime Zones (EEZ Outer Limit Lines) Regulations 2024.

Updated maps have accordingly been produced by this Department: <a href="https://csmzae.govmu.org/Pages/Maps/MaritimeZonesMaps.aspx">https://csmzae.govmu.org/Pages/Maps/MaritimeZonesMaps.aspx</a> and it is requested that the updated maps be consulted and used when referring to the Maritime Zones of the Republic of Mauritius.

The Republic of Mauritius has an Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of approximately 2.2 million square kilometres and shares joint jurisdiction with the Republic of Seychelles over an extended continental shelf area of about 400,000 square kilometres in the Mascarene Plateau region.

\*\*\*

May 2024