Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Ministry of Blue Economy, Marine Resources, Fisheries and Shipping
The Treaty establishing the Southern African Development Community (SADC) was signed at the summit of heads of eleven founding member states on 17 August, 1992, Windhoek, Namibia. Each of these states (Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe) has responsibility to coordinate a sector or sectors on behalf of the others. Mauritius has been allocated the Tourism sector recently. New member states may be allowed to join by unanimous decision of the SADC summit and upon acceding to SADC Treaty. Mauritius joined in 1995.
The headquarter of the SADC is in Gaborone, Botswana and its objectives are amongst others to:
  • alleviate poverty, promote economic growth and enhance the standard and quality of life of people in the SADC region;
  • evolve common political values, systems and institutions;
  • promote self-sustained development on the basis of collective self reliance and interdependence of member states;
  • achieve sustainable utilisation of natural resources and effective protection of the environment; and
  • strengthen long-standing historical, social and cultural affinities and links among the people of the region.
The Ministry of Economic Development, Productivity and Regional Development is the National Contact Point for SADC and the sectoral contact points relevant to appropriate Ministries have been officially designated. They will be expected to ensure proper follow-up on decisions taken by SADC and to help in formulation of project proposals.
The current project portfolio of Marine Fisheries Sector Coordinating Unit is as follows:
 Marine Fisheries Training in the areas of
  • Fisheries Law.
  • Socio-Economic of Fishing.
  • Mariculture Development.
  • Basic Business Skills.
  • Quality Assurances.
  • Marketing of Fish Products.


SADC Monitoring, Control and Surveillance
SADC Regional Fisheries Information System.
Marine Fisheries Resources including Stock Assessment.
Policy Analysis and Review.
Support to SADC Fisheries Coordinating Unit.
The Responsibility for Marine Fisheries rests with Namibia. One officer from the Ministry of Fisheries has been designated as the sectoral contact point for fisheries.
For further details, please contact Mr. I. Jehangeer at the Head Office,LIC Building, 4th Floor, John Kennedy Street Port-Louis - Email:


Subscribe to newsletter

Subscribe to the monthly newsletter, to be informed of the latest news portal, and new services added.