Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Ministry of Blue Economy, Marine Resources, Fisheries and Shipping
This organisation which was formed to replace the Preferential Trade Area (PTA) in December 1994, groups some 20 countries from various parts of the African continent. All members of SADC are also members of COMESA, except South Africa and Botswana. The decision making body is the Council of Ministers which is serviced by an Intergovernmental commission of experts from member countries.
The current project portfolio of the fisheries sector is as follows:-
Training in Fish Quality Assurance.

Establishment of a Common Fisheries Investment and Management Policy for Marine Fisheries.
Fisheries Data Bank.
Other identified areas for necessary intervention are:-
Training of fish inspectors and factory workers,

Building and equipping laboratories for fish inspectorate units to carry out checks on bacterial contamination,

Building jetties where fish is landed and handled hygienically,

Establishing sub-regional standards through harmonising national standards.


Subscribe to newsletter

Subscribe to the monthly newsletter, to be informed of the latest news portal, and new services added.